Royal Society of Chemistry Sir Geoffrey Wilkinson Dalton Poster Symposium 2021

Between 29 June to 1 July 2021, the Royal Society of Chemistry Sir Geoffrey Wilkinson Dalton Poster Competition took place online as part of the Dalton Joint Interest Group meeting. Whilst this event was on hold in 2020 because of the Covid-19 pandemic, we were delighted that the competition was able to resume, albeit in a virtual format.
The posters were distributed across four themes: Coordination and Organometallic Chemistry; Main Group Chemistry; Inorganic Reaction Mechanisms; Inorganic Biochemistry.

A judging committee reviewed the posters and selected winners across the four themes, as well as an overall winner up in the PhD and postdoc categories. The winners were announced by the Dalton Division President, Professor Robert Mulvey, during the conferences closing remarks and the winners all received a PDF certificate and bursary. 354 people attended  the online event this year, with 61 posters being presented at the Symposium.

The following chemists won prizes this year:

PhD Category

Winner: Natalia Baranska,University of York
Runner-up: Leah Webster, Imperial College London

PostDoc Category

Winner: Debanjana Biswal, University of Calcutta
Runner-up: Laurence Doyle, University of York

Inorganic Reaction Mechanisms

Winner: Patrick Morgan, University of Nottingham

Coordination and Organometallic Chemistry

Winner: Rebecca Salthouse, Durham University

Inorganic Biochemistry

Winner: Silvia Schoch, University of Pisa

Main Group Chemistry

Winner: Alexander Beaton Garcia, University of Edinburgh